A Yoga Story

Do you remember back in the day when TLC ran shows named A Baby Story and A Wedding Story? No? Okay, well, I must be old.

Let me start out by saying that I really enjoy yoga. Lately, though, my normal yoga routine has been seriously lacking. For the past year or so, I’ve been doing yoga a couple of days a week during my lunch hour. The University I work for has a yoga instructor that comes in and leads the class, and I always leave there feeling like I’ve had a good workout. I’ve also participated in a Yoga in the Park program the community has every year, and I’ve done a hot yoga class a couple of times.

Again, I’ve always enjoyed whatever class I’m in, but there has always been something missing. Yoga isn’t just about stretches and movement; it involves mindfulness and total body-mind balance. That’s the component I haven’t been getting.

Last summer, I bought a Groupon for a month’s worth of classes at a local yoga studio. I fiiiiiinally got around to using it at the end of September, and I. Am. Loving. It. I’ve been going to a variety of classes and I have gotten to experience a couple of especially mentally and physically challenging practices (more on this later).

The instructors are wonderful, and I love that we begin each class by dedicating our practice to all living creatures, and we end each class by celebrating the light and love each of us brings. Those two practices help me be focused and mindful not only of my postures during each movement but also of my breath and the directions of my thoughts.

I still have a couple weeks left, but I’m already planning on becoming a member at this studio. I think it’s going to be a good fit for me! Do any of you do yoga? What’s your favorite part about it?

One thought on “A Yoga Story

Leave a Reply

