Perfect Summer Dinner

Guys, I LOVE summer. Seriously, it’s my favorite season. I love the heat (although I’m not a huge fan of the humidity), the sunshine, the pool, the longer days, and the produce. Is there anything better than fresh summer produce? No? I didn’t think so.

The super easy dinner I made the other night featured tomatoes. Perfect, juicy, wonderful tomatoes. Unfortunately, it did not feature these tomatoes that my sister picked from my grandparents’ garden. I left the homegrown ones at their house. #fail

Freshly picked tomatoes from my grandparents' garden.

Freshly picked tomatoes from my grandparents’ garden.

Sunday evening, I wanted something that featured tomatoes. It also needed to be quick to make, because I was getting hangry. For those of you who don’t know what hangry means, it is when you’re angry because you’re hungry. Hanging out at the pool can be hard work!

I decided that an open-face tomato sandwich would fit the bill.  I baked mine for a few minutes, so it was creamy from the mozzarella cheese and tangy from the tomato. It was perfection.

2

For this deliciousness, you will need:

  • Bread (I used some take-and-bake bread that had roasted garlic in it. SO GOOD.)
  • Tomatoes (obviously)
  • Fresh mozzarella (regular would be fine in a pinch)
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper

3

So, first, preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Then, I put a piece of foil on a cookie sheet and sliced a few of the bread on it. I drizzled that with some olive oil. I put a couple of thin slices of the fresh mozzarella on the bread, and sliced up a tomato on top of the cheese. I sprinkled some salt and pepper over the tomatoes, and five minutes later, I threw everything into the oven. About 10 minutes later, everything was perfect. The tomatoes were warm, the cheese was melted, and the bread was toasted. Mmmm….soooo good!

4

This is SO easy to make! I did end up making a salad to eat with it, but everything was finished in less than 15 minutes. Now, that’s the way to make dinner.

What are some of your favorite summer recipes?

 

2 thoughts on “Perfect Summer Dinner

  1. That looks delicious! A couple of weeks ago, some friends gave me fresh tomatoes, which I was SO excited to use, and I accidentally forgot about them and let them rot. Booo! There is nothing better than caprese in the summer.

Leave a Reply

