An Ode to Lavender

Embed from Getty Images

I’m a huge fan of aromatherapy. In fact, I have Badger Headache Soother (a balm containing peppermint and lavender) and a bottle of Mental Clarity (a blend of basil, lemon, peppermint, rosemary, grapefruit,  and lavender oils) sitting on my desk right now, and I use them on the reg.

I’m also a huuuuuge fan of just plain lavender. The plant itself is gorgeous, and the scent is intoxicating. I’ve recently realized that I use it in some unexpected ways, and I thought I would share some of my lavender #protips with you!

LAVENDER LEMONADE It’s summer, so obviously, I’m going to be drinking a lot of lemonade. I really enjoy mixing up the flavors a bit, and I’ve found that lavender lemonade is one of my favorite variations. Basically, instead of adding sugar to your freshly squeezed lemons, you’re going to make a lavender-infused simple syrup using dried lavender. Then, you will hear angels sing, because it is just that delicious.

LAVENDER LINEN SPRAY I love the smell of lavender so much, that I want to sleep surrounded by it. I spritz my sheets with this stuff every night, and it smells amazing! Some linen sprays are complicated, but I just mix a few (okay, like 20) drops of lavender oil with about 12 oz of water in a spray bottle. It also makes a great air freshener.

LAVENDER FOR HAIR About three times a week, I put 3-5 drops of lavender oil right into my conditioner and massage it into my head. I let it sit there for about 3 minutes, and then rinse it out. I love the way it makes my hair smell!

LAVENDER AS A CLEANER Okay, guys. It’s time to get serious. Traditional cleaners freak me out. The chemical smell is overpowering, and I worry about what my kitties are ingesting when they lick their paws. The other day, I was cleaning my dressing room vanity, and I created this awesome paste that worked wonders! I used baking soda, salt (for some added grittiness), lemon juice, and a few drops of lavender oil. I scrubbed the vanity and sink with it and then rinsed it off with a damp rag. Everything sparkled, and the delightful scent of lavender and lemon lingered for hours. Perfection.

I’ve found so many uses for lavender essential oil, that it totally justifies having three bottles of it, right?!

I have a few of these bottles stashed around my house.

Do any of you have a great love of aromatherapy and essential oils? What is your favorite and what do you like to do with it?

One thought on “An Ode to Lavender

Leave a Reply

