Mastering the Delicious and Fuss-Free Lunch

I don’t know about you, but during the week, it is waaaaaaay too easy for me to think, “Oh, I’ll just grab lunch from [insert favorite restaurant that’s near work here] today.” As it turns out, that gets pricey. Who knew, right?! A couple of weeks ago, I made a vow to stop eating out for lunch. So far, I’ve been doing pretty well!

Last night, I was trying to think of a lunch that would be easy to throw together for the week, and I came up with a pretty tasty solution! The best part was, I didn’t even have to go to the store for ingredients! In case I haven’t sold you on it yet, it only took 10 minutes to make, and I only used one pot. That, my friends, is a winning combination.

I ended up making gnocchi and peas with a butter-lemon sauce. It’s kind of sweet from the peas and kind of tangy from the lemon. I added some basil to freshen it up a bit, and it is good (if I do say so myself). I was so pleased with it,  I decided to share the recipe with all of you! This is great for lunch, but it would also be a delicious side dish, and if you added a salad, it would be perfect for dinner!

E6B66D52-BCA4-4A8D-84D2-E541A8A3EF0B

10-Minute Gnocchi with Peas

(Serves 4)

You will need:

  • 16oz package of gnocchi
  • 1.5C frozen peas
  • 1 tbs lemon juice
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 2 tbs butter
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • Salt and pepper

First, add water to the pot and bring it up to a boil. Then, add the frozen peas and  gnocchi to the boiling water (I didn’t even bother thawing out the peas first). Neither of these ingredients takes long to cook – about 5 minutes should be good. You’ll know the gnocchi is finished when it rises to the top of the pot.

Once the peas and gnocchi are finished, dump them into a colander so you can make a quick sauce in the pot. Add the olive oil and butter to the pot. After the butter has melted, add the lemon juice, basil, salt, and pepper. Then, put the gnocchi and peas back in the pot with sauce and stir.  I also added some parmeasn cheese to the top.

See how easy it is?! I highly recommend giving it a try. If you’re interested in more vegetarian dishes, you might want to check out these summer pastas. They look tasty!

What are some of your go-to lunch ideas?

2 thoughts on “Mastering the Delicious and Fuss-Free Lunch

  1. Um…yum!! I didn’t know you were foregoing eating out for lunch. I tried that once…yeah, it didn’t work out! But I’d love to try again. It’s probably my #2 budget killer (#1 being coffee, of course, but I’m not giving that up!).

Leave a Reply

