30 Days of Torture (aka Planks)

At the beginning of this month, I decided to do a 30 Day Plank Challenge. The premise is simple; you start out doing one 20-second plank a day, and you gradually increase the time until you do one 5-minute plank on the last day.

Guys, I hate planks. I take a yoga class twice a week, and every time the instructor has us do planks, I want to die. You may be asking yourself why I decided to do a plank challenge if I loathe them so. The answer is: I’m not exactly sure. It was a spur of the moment decision, and at the end of it, I can say I’ve done a 5-minute plank. Rewarding, right?

This is the schedule I’m following:

Capture

It’s pretty standard. I found this particular schedule on Pinterest, but planks are really taking the internet by storm (thanks to CrossFit). You can find schedules just about anywhere. I’m currently on day 14 – almost halfway finished! Woot!

While I may not love planks, I am enjoying the 30 day challenge format, and I’d like to continue with that when this month is over. Do any of you have suggestions for what I should do next?

4 thoughts on “30 Days of Torture (aka Planks)

  1. You should try out the 30 day squat challenge, I’m in the process of it now and it seems so easy to start with but once you get to 100 squats+ it is definitely a killer! Good luck with the rest of the 30 day plank challenge!

  2. Go you!! During the very first yoga class I took, the instructor said that, a lot of time time, the pose or exercise you hate most is the one your body needs the most. Maybe your body is just crying out for planks? Ha!

    I second that you should do the 30 day squat challenge next. I’ve seen that one floating around Pinterest, too.

Leave a Reply

